National Bourbon Month: Where to try America's 'native spirit' in all 50 states

Ben Abramson

The United States Senate may be bitterly divided politically, but in 2007, it found one topic on which it could unify, declaring September "National Bourbon Heritage Month." Here's some of the language from the resolution that passed the Senate by unanimous consent:

Whereas Congress declared bourbon as America’s Native Spirit in 1964, making it the only spirit distinctive to the United States;

Whereas the history of bourbon-making is interwoven with the history of the United States, from the first settlers of Kentucky in the 1700s, who began the bourbon-making process ...

Today America's "native spirit" is enjoying a resurgence and is produced in all 50 states, while Kentucky caters to a new wave of bourbon tourists at its most famous distilleries. Explore the intriguing options for bourbon lovers in the slideshows above and below.